Appoggiatura and Logorrhea No. 848

Hecetu Welo means “that’s the way it is”.

When I was a young man I would go to ceremonies and a wicahcala, an elderly man, would say “Hecetu welo” when he saw something good and it made his heart happy.

It’s been awhile since I’ve heard anyone use those words. But, when I see the people standing together in the name of Unci Maka and Mni Wiconi, I am proud of my people and say “Hecetu welo”.

Wopila echiciyapelo

Warfield Moose, Jr., Lakota spiritual leader and author of THE LAKOTA PHILOSOPHY OF HEALING THROUGH SONG

Leave a Reply

